On Wednesday, June 3, a 13-year-old girl was riding her bike in Fort Walton Beach when she was struck by a motorist. She was taken to a local hospital to recover, but the 65-year-old driver who struck her will not be facing any charges from the police. The little girl ran a stop sign before she was hit, which may mean that the driver was not at fault, under Florida law.
In Florida, a bicycle is considered a vehicle, and its rider is considered a driver. That means that the traffic signs and warnings that are posted are also meant for bicyclists, so you could face a lot of trouble if you ignore the rules of the road. Here are a few reminders about the rules of riding that every Florida cyclist needs to know.
What Are Florida’s Bicycle Laws?
When you are riding your bike, remember to ride in the same direction as traffic. You should always use the bike lanes if they are available, and if there are no bike lanes, you should ride as far to the right side of the road as you can safely manage. Another thing to remember is that bicycles are allowed to ride on sidewalks, but remember that the pedestrian always has the right of way.
Remember that not only do you have to follow the traffic laws when riding a bike, but you also have the same rights as a person driving a car. So, if you are hit while riding on the road, know your rights. The attorneys of Colson Hicks Eidson have helped cyclists involved in accidents for several years. For more information, visit our bicycle accidents page, and if you have questions about your bike accident, contact us for free cyclist accident advice.
Colson Hicks Eidson — Personal Injury Attorneys