Personal Injury Lawyer Blog Providing
Info in Miami & Nationwide

"Colson Hicks Eidson is recognized as one of the top litigation firms in the country, handling local, national and international litigation for a wide range of clients." - Chambers USA


If You Were Exposed To Water At Marine Corps Base Camp Lejeune In North Carolina, Submit Your Information By Clicking Here. Or Contact Us At: 305-476-7400

Florida Association for Women Lawyers Honors Colson Hicks Eidson Partner Julie Braman Kane with Prestigious Mattie Belle Davis Award

July 14, 2016
Colson Hicks Eidson

Kane Recognized for Achievements, Perseverance and Dedication to the Legal Profession

CORAL GABLES, Fla. (July 13, 2016) – Attorney Julie Braman Kane, a partner with Coral Gables-based law firm Colson Hicks Eidson, was recently honored by Miami-Dade Florida Association of Women Lawyers’ (FAWL) with its prestigious Mattie Belle Davis Award, presented annually to a Miami-Dade FAWL member who exemplifies the ideals of professional achievement, perseverance and dedication that were demonstrated by the late Judge Davis.
A founding member and past president of FAWL, Mattie Belle Davis was the only woman in Florida to pass the Florida Bar exam in 1936. “Julie is deserving of the Mattie Belle Davis Award as one the leading trial lawyers in our community who has done so much for FAWL and women attorneys by way of leadership, friendship, mentoring and paving the way for our collective success,” said Deborah Baker-Egozi, past-president of FAWL who presented the award at the organization’s 36th annual installation and awards dinner in June.

Kane is passionate about mentoring the younger generation and the advancement of women lawyers and has been actively involved with Miami-Dade FAWL for more than 12 years, including serving as president in 2009.

An advocate of civil justice, Kane currently serves as president-elect of the American Association for Justice (AAJ), the world’s largest trial bar and leading defender of civil justice. On July 24, she will be installed as president of the Washington, D.C.–based organization at its 2016 Convention in Los Angeles, CA.

In addition to her service with the AAJ, Kane serves on the board of directors for the Florida Justice Association. She previously served as a commissioner on the Florida Elections Commission and as a trustee on the Justice PAC Board and as co-chair of the National College of Advocates.

An AV-rated trial lawyer, Kane concentrates her practice on catastrophic personal injury and wrongful death litigation as well as in commercial, class and mass actions. Throughout her 23-year career, she has secured multi-million dollar verdicts and settlements for victims of negligence, including a $38 million verdict in a medical malpractice case. Throughout her career, Kane has earned multiple accolades for her legal skills, her leadership and her dedication to community members, consumers and the trial bar.

About Colson Hicks Eidson

The Law Firm of Colson Hicks Eidson is a trial firm with nearly 50 years of experience handling local, national and international litigation, and arbitration. Members of the firm have been involved in some of the country’s most high-profile and landmark cases resulting in impactful and precedential rulings. A mid-size firm with a diverse staff comprised of more than 50 percent women and minorities, Colson Hicks Eidson prides itself on a track record of developing future leaders within the legal profession and its civic and community involvement. Members of the firm have held notable positions serving on the boards of prominent institutions, such as the State University System of Florida and the Florida State Board of Education, and holding high-ranking offices, including President of the 60,000-member American Association for Justice; President of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers; President of the Academy of Florida Trial Lawyers; President of the Dade County Bar Association; President of the Miami-Dade Florida Association of Women Lawyers; United States Attorney for the Southern District of Florida; and Chairman of the Florida Federal Judicial Nominating Commission.